Instituto Fernand Braudel de Economia Mundial - Associado à FAAP

Think tank, and a do tank

  1. Norman Gall

    Norman Gall

    Executive Director
    E-mail: ngall@braudel.org.br
    More information

    Norman Gall has been engaged in reporting and research on Latin America since 1961, residing in Puerto Rico (1961-67), Venezuela (1968-74) and Brazil (1977 to present). Born in New York City in 1933 and educated in New York City public schools and New York University, he has been executive director of the Fernand Braudel Institute of World Economics in São Paulo since 1987 and editor of Braudel Papers, its bi-monthly newspaper of research and opinion, published in English and Portuguese. He was a Guggenheim Fellow (1968-69) and twice a visiting fellow at the Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs, Princeton University (1967-68 & 1972-73). For the American Universities Field Staff (AUFS), he conducted research on Peru, Venezuela, Dominican Republic, Colombia, Bolivia, Chile and Brazil. As Senior Associate at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, he conducted a three-year research project (1974-77) on the emergence of Brazil as a force in hemispheric affairs while on leave from AUFS. As contributing editor for Forbes magazine, based in São Paulo, he reported on developments in the world economy from Brazil, Japan, Europe, United States, Brazil, Mexico, Venezuela, Peru, Argentina and Chile. He has served as consultant to Exxon Corporation (1979), World Bank (1984-85; 1989-90), and the United Nations (1985). His work has appeared in The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The Washington Post, The Economist, The Baltimore Sun, Newsday, The Philadelphia Bulletin, The New York Review of Books, The Times Literary Supplement (London), Commentary, The New Republic, The Nation, The New Leader, The Nation, The National Catholic Reporter, The Observer, The New Statesman, Le Monde, Esprit (Paris), Die Zeit (Hamburg), O Estado de S. Paulo, Jornal do Brasil and other European and Latin American periodicals.

    His complete biography and publications list is available at www.normangall.com

  2. Margarida Osório Guimarães

    Administrator
    E-mail: margarida@braudel.org.br
  3. Manuela Costeira

    Manuela Costeira

    Coordinator
    E-mail: manuela@braudel.org.br
  4. Givanilson L. Góes

    Givanilson L. Góes

    Communication assistant
    E-mail: givanilson@braudel.org.br
  5. Reading Circles Program
  6. Catalina Pagés Lamas

    Catalina Pagés Lamas

    Coordinator
    E-mail: catalina@braudel.org.br
  7. Maria Aparecida Lamas

    Maria Aparecida Lamas

    Pedagogical Coordinator
    E-mail: lamas@braudel.org.br
  8. Lindemberg Vidal Barbosa

    Estagiário
    E-mail: lindemberg@braudel.org.br
  9. Educational Projects Assistants
  10. Alanne de Souza Pereira

    E-mail: alanne@braudel.org.br
  11. Flaviano Ferreira Júnior

    E-mail: flaviano@braudel.org.br
  12. George Isamu Uemura Jr.

    E-mail: george@braudel.org.br
  13. Jaqueline Moura Moreira

    E-mail: jaqueline@braudel.org.br
  14. Lucas Bastos de Oliveira

    E-mail: lucas@braudel.org.br
  15. Mariana Moutinho Milton

    E-mail: mariana@braudel.org.br
  16. Pedro Heitor de Paulo Silveira

    E-mail: pedro@braudel.org.br

Address and
contacts:

Ceará, 2
CEP 01243-010
São Paulo - SP - Brazil

Phone. +55 (11) 3824-9633

Follow us
on the Web: